In Sanskrit, Ayur means life, and Veda means knowledge… Put together, Ayurveda is the science of life. Ayurveda is a 5000-year-old holistic healing system from India that overflows with health benefits specializing in the harmonization and alignment of one’s body, mind, and spirit. As a unique process of empowerment, Ayurveda implies that everything is interconnected. In Ayurvedic Medicine the concept of awareness encourages a better understanding of how our environment directly influences our experiences of life. While expanding awareness, practitioners of Ayurveda develop within themselves the power to heal, transform, and balance preventing the body, mind and spirit from illness.

The Doshas of Ayurvedic Medicine

Ayurveda has categorized the energy of our universe into three constitutions, or Doshas: Vata (space & air), Pitta (fire & water) and Kapha (water & earth)

The Vata Dosha governs movement in the body, the activities of the nervous system, and the process of elimination. When balanced, Vata is energetic, creative and flexible. When unbalanced, Vata is anxious, overwhelmed, stressed.

The Pitta Dosha controls digestion, metabolism, and energy production. The primary function of Pitta is transformation. Those with a predominance of the Pitta principle have a fiery nature that manifests in both body and mind. When balanced, Pitta is ambitious, perfectionistic, clear-skinned, brave, and passionate. When unbalanced, Pitta experiences skin rashes, burning sensations, peptic ulcers, strong body heat, heartburn and indigestion.

The Kapha Dosha governs the structure of the body. It is the principle that holds the cells together and forms the muscle, fat, bone, and sinew. The primary function of Kapha is protection. When balanced, Kapha is strong, loyal, patient, loving, and supportive. When unbalanced, Kapha manifests resistance to change and stubbornness and tends to hold on to things such as jobs and relationships long after it is no longer necessary.

Are you wondering what your Dosha is? Take the test!

Ayurvedic questionnaires can be helpful to find out one personal constitution. https://www.theayurvedaexperience.com/dosha-quiz/

The Twenty Qualities of Ayurveda

Ayurvedic medicine considers that everything we feel within all three levels of ourselves (physical, mental, and spiritual) is experienced through twenty attributes or gunas:

- Cold/Hot

- Oily/Dry

- Heavy/Light

- Gross/ Subtle

- Dense/Liquid

- Soft/Hard

- Static/Mobile

- Sticky/Clear

- Slimy/Rough

- Slow/Sharp

Excess in one of these twenty qualities can lead to a state of imbalance in thoughts, emotions and body. To recreate balance within one’s life through Ayurveda, it is important to focus on cultivating the opposite qualities of the imbalanced guana. In Ayurvedic medicine, every person has a unique and different mind and body type, and therefore the ratio between these energies varies by the individual.

Ayurveda at Peace Retreat

Book at session at Yoga Peace Retreat with Serena Arora, certified Ayurvedic medicine practitioner. Through an individualized combination of diet, herbal treatments, and breathing practices, Serena helps patients find their best balance. Discover a higher sense of wellness and allow yourself to find your way back to your roots!

#Ayurveda #wellness

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Posts Are Coming Soon
Stay tuned...
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Related Posts
Leave a Comment

©2020 by peaceretreat.ca